Neuthal Textile and Industrial Heritage

Between B?retswil and Bauma the former Neuthal spinning mill is situated. The historically important factory ensemble is wonderfully embedded in the hilly landscape of the Zurich Oberland and is classified as a site of national importance. The region experienced an incredible boom in the textile industry in the 19th century thanks to readily available hydroelectric power. Over time, the textile industry developed into the important Swiss engineering industry, with names such as Rieter (spinning machines) and Rüti (weaving machines). Since 1991 more than 70 volunteers have been running a unique museum of industrial culture in Neuthal.

Visitors are immersed in a fascinating world and in a bygone age which forms the basis of our present prosperity. Still numerous machines clatter and process cotton into high-quality fabric. An ingenious system of ponds, pressure pipes and turbines vividly illustrates how energy was generated around 1900.

In the spinning mill, functioning, historical machines from different times can be used to trace the path from raw cotton to yarn. In the weaving mill it is possible to trace how productivity increased rapidly due to technical developments and with which sophisticated ideas a high-quality piece of fabric is woven. Embroidery shows how fabrics were finished with hand embroidery machines.

Neuthal Textile and Industrial Heritage
Neuthal 6
8344 B?retswil
+41 (0) 52 - 3863506

Recommended duration of visit:2 Hours
Duration of a guided Tour:60-90 Minutes
Access for persons with disabilities:For details see website
Infrastructure for Children:
Visitor centre on site:yes
Gift and book shop on Site:yes

May to October:
first and third Sunday per month 10am-4pm

  • Guided tours optional
  • Tours in other languages

This website uses cookies

五福彩票 天水市 永康市 成都市 商洛市 大庆市 镇江市 临夏市 阜新市 巴中市 萍乡市 崇州市 邓州市 平度市 河津市 台中市 衡水市 明光市 凤城市 吉林省 石首市 龙海市 黄石市 叶城市 都匀市 武穴市 朝阳市 青岛市 凤城市 葫芦岛市 仙桃市 合肥市 孝感市 邢台市 兴城市 平度市 利川市 洮南市 信阳市 常州市 宁国市 南阳市 徐州市 北宁市 邢台市 鹿泉市 池州市 北宁市 台中市 华阴市 延吉市 铁力市 兴城市 淮安市 汉川市 东阳市 焦作市 西安市 佛山市 潍坊市 甘肃省